I’d like to illustrate this post with a painting…

3 02 2011

…but the question of rights to artists’ works makes me rather timid. Therefore, I’ll just point out that the NEH Twitter feed just informed me that today is Norman Rockwell’s birthday and that they have funded a digital catalog of Norman Rockwell’s work which looks absolutely amazing.

If you’re laughing at me right now for linking to someone whose work you equate with that guy whose name I can’t remember right now but whose work gets sold in malls, then think of it as folk art. The guy certainly had his finger on the pulse of America, and I can’t think of a better resource to help me illustrate my mid-20th century lectures.

Update: Now I remember, that painter’s name is Thomas Kinkade. It’s funny how memory works. As soon as I stopped thinking about it, the name just came to me. And Google was no help to me, I tried searching for “worst American painter ever” and only got results related to American Idol. Searching for “paintings sold in malls” didn’t work either.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

