Can you pass the Acid Test?

11 03 2010

It was this article that led me to find this site, which has lots of images of posters like this one:

This image is definitely going into my Sixties lecture because you can’t teach the Sixties well without mentioning drugs and you can’t discuss drugs without discussing the Acid Tests.

On a related note, I read a LOT of non-fiction and I really do believe that my favorite non-fiction book of all time is Tom Wolfe’s The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test. About three years ago, I went to a Wolfe speech in Massachusetts and paid good money to get him to sign my program afterwords. In the moment I had to talk to him, I explained that I was a history professor and that I’d been teaching Acid Test for almost a decade, and my first question in discussion was always, “Does Wolfe like the Merry Pranksters or is he trying to make fun of them?” In answering that question, Wolfe explained that his book was journalism and that he just wrote down what he heard, read and saw.

Perhaps the Merry Pranksters indicted themselves, then.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

