How would you respond if that happened offline?

27 05 2014

Jonathan Rees:

You’ve seen my article in Academe by now. Here’s my intro to it on the Academe blog.

Originally posted on The Academe Blog:

I vividly remember my exact reaction the first time I read about Massive Open Online Courses (or MOOCs).  It was, “They can’t be serious, can they?  How on earth can anybody teach 30,000 people at once?”  Since I had already developed an interest in quality control for online education, I followed every new MOOC development very closely on my blog, More or Less Bunk.  For a long while, my blog was nothing but MOOC news and analysis every time I posted.  While I still write quite a bit about MOOCs there, I’ve come to believe that the technological problem higher education faces involves a lot more than MOOCs, which just happens to be the title of my contribution to the May-June 2014 issue of Academe.

Back when I was blogging mostly about regular online courses, before higher education caught MOOC madness, I heard a great deal from dedicated…

View original 498 more words

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,284 other followers

