“The MOOC is dead, long live the MOOC.”

11 12 2013

So I got quoted in the New York Times again this morning. Much to my joy, the ever present Phil Hill didn’t (accidentally) kneecap me in print this time.

For added value, Scott Newstok, who has much more patience than I do (and really should start showing up in the comments at this blog right here), picked this out of the comments to that story:

“As an MBA from a top school, the value I got out of my $100k and 2 years has NOTHING to do with the course content, all of which I could have and can look up on line and self educate myself, if I wanted to about game theory, or how to read a financial statement, or what a bottleneck is, etc, etc.

The entire value, which I can now appreciate, came from being for 2 years in a highly challenging, highly competitive environment surrounded by super smart people, being pushed to think and consider things in different ways and learning how to deconstruct complex challenges into bite size pieces, then reconstruct the situation to find solutions.

It completely changed the way I think, and for the better: I now know what questions to ask, in any situation, and how to recognize what it is I don’t know. My analytical skills have more than doubled.

None of that value could be obtained by a MOOC.”

Actions

Information

One response

12 12 2013
Christine Donaldson

In a sense that’s true, but it isn’t universally true. I certainly didn’t learn heightened analytical skills in my 4 years at university or in my post-grad teaching diploma either.

However, the G+ group I now belong too has greatly helped me develop those skills and I joined that group after we met up in a MOOC.

So, may I respectfully suggest that the quotation above is not universally true and may, in some cases like mine, be wrong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,225 other followers

