“Laptops may be used only with permission of professor.”

19 09 2009

This one (via UD) makes enough sense to me that I’ll borrow much of the language next semester:

“Laptops may be used only with permission of professor. Students using laptops must turn off wireless function, close all applications/windows other than the notes document and sit in the front row.”

These days there are lots of students who might not be taking notes in a document, but the point of them being in the first row is so that you can check whatever they’re doing when you walk around.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2010
Call me a Luddite, but… « More or Less Bunk

[...] allow laptops in my classroom under certain conditions, based on an article I found while writing this very blog: Everyone taking notes on a laptop has to sit in the front row so that I can keep an eye on them. [...]

3 12 2012
World History MOOC Report 14: In which I am disappointed in Jeremy Adelman. « More or Less Bunk

[...] by Kelli Marshall about student use of laptops in the classroom. This is a subject that’s near and dear to my heart, which I also think applies here because if you think it’s bad when the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,293 other followers

