Teaching with YouTube.

5 01 2008

Last Summer, I discovered the Prelinger Archives. The shorter films they have on that site for free (like this one, for example) fit perfectly into a survey lecture. I downloaded many from there and the Library of Congress and started using them to illustrate points I made in class already.

By the time you get to the 1960s or so, the number and quality of films you can get from those places drops off considerably. Where could I find more short movies, I thought. YouTube was the answer. The wealth of good historical primary source material on YouTube is really stunning. Take just the 1960s, for example. I have my survey students reading David Remnick’s King of the World, so I showed them this:

I had been describing this ad in lecture for years:

Now I could show it. Boy did LBJ have an ugly voice!

And what better way to describe Hippies than by showing this?:

Funny thing, though – I wanted to show a good Ronald Reagan speech to illustrate his communications skills, but I couldn’t find one. Every other clip on YouTube seemed to be these rather cloying memorials from the time he died.

Isn’t there a technologically-talented conservative out there who can post a couple of minutes of “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!” for me? I’d do it myself, but I don’t have the footage.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 02 2008
Don’t you think sticking it to Microsoft is worth a little extra effort? « More or Less Bunk

[...] I’ve become a big fan of using video clips in class, it’s nice to see them included here as a potential positive. Nevertheless, there is a good [...]

16 04 2008
The teaching part of teaching history with YouTube. « More or Less Bunk

[...] If you’re reading this before then, I wrote my first draft of this essay on this blog here. That will have to do for now. If you’re reading this because of that published article [...]

1 01 2010
The teaching part of teaching history with YouTube « ~ THE GUNNY "G" BLOGS ONLINE ~ NEWS-VIEWS-BS, AND WORSE!

[...] If you’re reading this before then, I wrote my first draft of this essay on this blog here. That will have to do for now. If you’re reading this because of that published article welcome. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,227 other followers

